certify image
Rated 4.8/5 based on 1789 reviews.

If you liked this, you'll LOVE this: Screen Adapted Books

by Book Grocer on April 04, 2022
Today we're bringing a series of recommendations based on what you may have already read...
Screen Adapted Books edition!
These books were so good, they were picked up and translated into movies filled with stars you know and love. After reading the book and watching the movie, it's likely you've asked yourself: Where can I find more like this?
Well, no problem. Our team is here to provide you with an answer.
Check out our recommendations below.

If you liked this book, you'll love this book. Book Recommendations by Book Grocer.

 

1. The Giver by Lois Lowry ⬌ Scythe by Neil Shusterman

The Give Lois Lowry and Scythe Neal Shusterman Dystopian YA Novels

We're highly certain that if you have not already read The Giver, you've at least heard of it. This highly popular book has made it to the big screen starring famous names including Jeff Bridges, Meryl Streep, Taylor Swift, and Katie Holmes.

If The Giver piques your interest, we're certain Scythe will be one of the books you'll be adding to your favourite dystopian books list. These books have systems in place to make their world go smoother... but is everything really as easy as that? Both books encompassing Sci-Fi elements, these books will have you wondering whether a perfect world truly exists.

What happens when the main characters decide to break away from the mould they've been placed in by society? When they finally see the system for what it really is?

 SHOP FEATURED BOOKS HER

2. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson ⬌ Little Scratch by Rebecca Watson

Speak Lois Halse Anderson and Little Scratch Rebecca Watson Contemporary YA and Adult Books

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson is one of those books... and by that we mean a coming-of-age book that young adults should read. A National Book Award Finalist and winner of the Golden Kite Award, Speak has been translated into a movie starring Twilight star, Kristen Stewart. Speak tells the story of a high school girl who distances herself from everyone after a traumatic experience* and how she finds her way back again.

If you liked Speak, you might just find Little Scratch by Rebecca Watson right up your alley. Written in a unique prose, Little Scratch depicts the story of a woman who puts on a brave face as she goes about her days, but is spiralling underneath her facade after a similar experience in Speak.

Women are strong, and it's clear as we read through their perspectives and watch as they learn to move towards the process of healing.

 SHOP FEATURED BOOKS HER

*Please be mindful of trigger warnings.


3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee ⬌ The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee Classics and The Hate U Give Angie Thomas Young Adult

Tough topics, tough books... but just because they're tough to read, doesn't mean you shouldn't. In fact, we think that these are must reads.

Whether you've read it or not, we all know of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. As mighty as this classic is, we believe The Hate U Give, told from the perspective of a Black teen, is a solid wake up call to reality. Main protagonist Starr shifts between two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends, and she adjusts her persona to match. One day, she witnesses the unprovoked shooting of her Black friend and chaos ensues.

The Hate U Give has been made into a movie starring The Hunger Games and The Darkest Minds's star Amandla Stenberg.

Facing social injustices and fighting against discrimination that is still prevalent in today's society, both To Kill a Mockingbird and The Hate U Give are eye opening reads.

 SHOP FEATURED BOOKS HER

More of this? You may also like our Confronting Racism and Sexism Book Box.

4. Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan ⬌ Dial A for Aunties by Jesse Sutanto

Crazy Rich Asians Kevin Kwan and Dial A for Aunties Jesse Sutanto Rom Com

The book that sold over 5 million copies worldwide and translated into 36 languagesCrazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan made it BIG on the big screen. This movie called on famous Asian stars including Constance Wu, Henry Golding, and Shang-Chi star Awkwafina. A Rom-Com featuring the well-loved omg-he's-secretly-a-billionaire trope, Crazy Rich Asians will have you both laughing and crying... at the same time.

If you loved Crazy Rich Asians, we're introducing you to another hilarious laugh-out-loud RomCom, Dial A for Aunties by Jesse Sutanto. Meddling aunts, an accidental murder, and the wedding of the year... combine it all in one book and see what happens.⠀

 SHOP FEATURED BOOKS HER

Want more of these?
Let us know in the comments what you'd like to see.
Buy books online at Book Grocer - Australia's best bargain bookstore. Thousands of titles, all in stock and ready to ship, all discounted from the RRP. We also have great value Book Boxes in every genre. Flat Rate Shipping Australia-wide.
LEAVE A COMMENT

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published


BACK TO TOP