Rated 4.7/5 based on 1284 reviews.
Other Words for Smoke
  • Product ID: 9781789090086
  • Availability: in stock. Ships next working day In stock Out of stock -

Other Words for Smoke

$12.00 $19.99
Author: Sarah Maria Griffin

Format: Paperback / softback

Number of Pages: 336


When the house at the end of the lane burned down, none of the townspeople knew what happened. A tragedy, they called it. Poor Rita Frost and her ward, Bevan, lost to the flames. Only Mae and Rossa, Rita's niece and nephew, know what happened that fateful summer. Only they know about the owl in the wall, the uncanny cat, the dark powers that devour love and fear. Only they know about the trials of loving someone who longs for power, for freedom, for magic. Only they know what brought the house tumbling down around them. And they'll never, ever breathe a word. Captivating and atmospheric, Sarah Maria Griffin's second novel explores the balance between love and fear, youth and maturity, and good and evil. With an unusual structure spanning five summers, intriguing characters, and a dark mystery, this uncommon novel will appeal to readers of Rin Chupeco's The Bone Witch and Madeleine Roux's House of Furies. 'A beautiful novel woven from magic that seeps into your blood and bones and lingers there...Sarah's gorgeous prose will haunt you.' - Christina Henry, bestselling author of Alice and Lost Boy 'This is a fascinating coming-of-age story with magical elements that feel both grounded and properly mystifying...Where this book really shines is in Griffin's depiction of teenage longing, the awful misery of being in love with someone who doesn't love you back, or outgrowing your old childish attachments. There are some gorgeous moments in this book that have stuck with me since I finished reading it, and the ending totally got me choked up. Griffin has a keen eye for the beautiful agony of adolescence, and that's what makes this book such a compelling read.' - Charlie Jane Anders, bestselling author of All the Birds in the Sky 'To say this novel, dripping with pull and promise, is good, would be an understatement and an oversimplification. It's the kind of good that is both wonderful and horrifying simultaneously, awful and wrong and gorgeous as its shadowy and powerful wallpaper owl. It's the kind of good that makes you stop reading to catch your breath on a crowded train, that makes your face ache from smiling and brings unsettling dreams when you close your eyes. As bright as magic and as dark as Ireland's history, this book is a brilliant piece of feminine-powered complexity.' - Matt Killeen, bestselling author of Orphan Monster Spy
  • Author: Sarah Maria Griffin
  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Tags: Fantasy, October-2021
  • Barcode: 9781789090086
  • Please note that some books may be Remainder Marked
  • We offer Flat Rate Shipping Australia-wide on all orders, no matter how many books you buy. We also offer FREE in-store pickup at any of our Book Grocer stores around Australia.

    Currently we do not ship outside Australia. We have a separate website for New Zealand customers which can be found here.

    NB. Occasionally we open up a shipping window to allow New Zealand customers to order from the Australian website, and have their order shipped in the next shipping container.  Details of our shipping window can be found in our blog

    Shipping Costs

    Please see the table below for your shipping rate:

     State Shipping Cost (Flat rate)
    VIC, NSW, ACT, SA, TAS and QLD $10
    WA and NT

    $20

     

    If you would like to ship items to more than one address, please place separate orders for these items. 

    Shipping Time

    We endeavour to process your item(s) within 24/48 business hours. We use a combination of Australia Post (for smaller orders) and a shipping company to deliver your order.  You can expect your items within 4-5 days outside peak (Christmas) season. 

    For in-store pickup: Our warehouse is Melbourne-based. We deliver customer orders to our stores on a regular but somewhat unpredictable schedule. If you are based in Melbourne your order is likely to arrive at your selected store earlier than if you select an interstate in-store pickup option.

    Pickup from our Bourke, Spencer and Northcote stores could take up to 1 week to receive your order. 

    Pickup from our Newcastle and Majura stores could take up to 2 weeks to receive your order.

    Pickup from our Tullamarine Warehouse your order will be ready the next business day.

    Your chosen store will get in touch with you by email to let you know your book has arrived. 

    Wondering about what happened to our previous Free Shipping policy? Our reasons for making this change can be found here

    Change of Mind - Remainder Marks

    Generally we do not accept returns due to a change of mind. 

    Our books are remainders which means that they occasionally have a texta mark at the base of the book.  This is one reason our prices are so low.  Unfortunately we cannot accept returns for books that are marked in this way. 

    Change of Mind - Mystery Boxes

    We do not generally provide a change-of-mind refund simply because a Mystery Box contains books you are not interested in.  Any refunds we may give will be on a discretionary basis and will depend on the box being shipped back to us. You would be required to pay return shipping for your box.

    Mystery Box - Important to Read:  We do our best to ensure that our Mystery Boxes contain books selected from a wide range of categories.  (Aside from specific Mystery Boxes such as YA Mystery, of course).  As such, you're almost certainly not going to love all the books.  However, they are about $3 each, so can be re-gifted, used for craft, used to bulk out your collection, saved for a hobby you don't yet have... it's up to you!

    We will, however, provide you with a refund for any duplicates of the same title in a Mystery (or any) Box.  Please send a photograph with your email.  The refund is calculated as a proportion of the number of books in the box. 

    If you are concerned you might not like the books in a Mystery Box, we strongly encourage you to try one of our category boxes instead - which have the full book list published in the description.  

    Damaged or incorrect orders 

    If you have received items that are damaged or incorrect please contact us at help@bookgrocer.com. If your return is accepted, we’ll send you a return shipping label, as well as instructions on how and where to send your package. Items sent back to us without first requesting a return will not be accepted. 

    Please inspect your order upon reception and contact us immediately if the item is defective, damaged or if you receive the wrong item, so that we can evaluate the issue and make it right.

    Exceptions / non-returnable items

    Unfortunately, we cannot accept returns on sale items or gift cards. 

    Refunds

    We will notify you once we’ve received and inspected your return, and let you know if the refund was approved or not. If approved, you’ll be automatically refunded on your original payment method. Please remember it can take some time for your bank or credit card company to process and post the refund too.

    Customer Reviews

    No reviews yet
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)

    Related Products

    Recently Viewed Products

    Customer Reviews

    No reviews yet
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    BACK TO TOP