Grande Expectations

Author(s): Karen Blumenthal

Business & Economics | No Category

The world of publicly traded companies can be confusing. Why does a particular stock skyrocket one day and plummet the next? How is the value of a company - particularly a multi-national one - really determined? Karen Blumenthal, a veteran reporter and editor for the "Wall Street Journal", provides all of these questions and more in this riveting book. A grand business narrative in the tradition of Michael Lewis, Grande Expectations shows how money is made and lost by following one familiar stock, Starbucks, over the course of an entire year, demonstrating how all the players - big and small investors, company management, the media, and more - determine its performance. Blumenthal takes us behind the scenes at the company's annual stockholders meeting, into the inner sanctum of Starbucks' corporate headquarters, and introduces us to an array of colourful characters: the head of an investment club, a paranoid short seller, the manager of a huge investment portfolio, and more. What emerges is not only a demystification of the complex world of high finance, but a compelling biography of one of the world's most recognised brands.

$10.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'You'll come away with new insights into how the stock market really works ... Get ready for the ride of your life and a lifetime of fruitful investing.' WALL STREET JOURNAL 'A book that simplifies all that stock talk ... to those looking for an entertaining and educational read, skip four trips to Starbucks and invest in this book.' ADVERTISING AGE

Karen Blumenthal has been a business reporter and editor for more than 25 years, most of those at the Wall Street Journal. She was business editor of the Dallas Morning News from 1992 to 1994 and was the Journal's Dallas bureau chief from 1996 to 2004

General Fields

  • : 9780749928070
  • : Little, Brown Book Group Limited
  • : UNKNOWN
  • : May 2007
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Karen Blumenthal
  • : Paperback
  • : 320