A Curious Beginnin: A Veronica Speedwell Mystery #1

Author(s): Deanna Raybourn

Crime Fiction | No Category

After burying her spinster aunt, the orphaned Veronica Speedwell intends to resume her world travels in pursuit of scientific inquiry-and the occasional romantic dalliance. As familiar with hunting butterflies as she is fending off admirers, Veronica wields her butterfly net and a sharpened hatpin with equal aplomb.But fate has other plans, as Veronica discovers when she thwarts her own abduction with the help of an enigmatic German baron with ties to her mysterious past. The baron offers her sanctuary in the care of his friend Stoker-a reclusive natural historian as intriguing as he is bad-tempered. But before the baron can reveal his secrets, he is found murdered. Veronica and Stoker are forced to go on the run, wary partners in search of the villainous truth...

$6.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
24

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Interviews and reviews in national broadsheets. Extracts and reviews on crime and books websites. lnterviews, extracts and reviews in crime, entertianment and lifestyle magazines. Promotion on Titanbooks.com and Titanbooks social media channels. A new series from the author of the New York Times bestselling Lady Julia Grey series. Strong appeal for fans of Elizabeth Peters, Carola Dunn, Anne Perry, Frances Brody, Ashley Weaver and Tasha Alexander. Reminiscent of Peters' Amelia Peabody novels and the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novels by Anne Perry. First time in paperback.

Deanna Rayboum is the author of the award-winning New York Times bestselling Lady Julia Grey series and several standalone novels. The Lady Julia series has been nominated for five RITA Awards, an Agatha Award, and numerous Dilys Wynn, Last Laugh, Daphne du Maurier, and Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Awards. Deanna lives in Virginia with her husband and daughter.

General Fields

  • : 9781785650482
  • : Titan Books Ltd
  • : Titan Books Ltd
  • : October 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Deanna Raybourn
  • : Paperback
  • : 320