Day of the Dead

Author(s): Lisa Brackman

Crime Fiction | No Category

All she wanted was to get away. But now, she can't escape...A pulse-pounding thriller that dives into the dark side of Mexico. A holiday in Mexico is just what Michelle Mason needs after her husband dies, leaving behind a scandal and a pile of debt. On the beach, she meets a handsome American ex-pat - the margaritas have kicked in and she decides: why not? But their date ends horribly when Daniel is attacked by intruders in her hotel room. When Daniel disappears, Michelle is drawn into Mexico's dangerous underworld of corrupt policemen and powerful drug lords. What was a holiday romance suddenly becomes a matter of life and death. Can she trust Daniel, or is he responsible for the danger she is in? Michelle has nowhere to run and no one to trust. Now, she needs to dig deep to escape her holiday nightmare alive...

$8.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Praise for YEAR OF THE TIGER: 'A compelling debut that takes you deep into the dangerous, complicated heart of modern China, with a tough and appealing heroine in Ellie' Jeff Abbott, author of FEAR 'Lisa Brackman's novel gets off to a fast start and never lets up...Ellie is a perfect spunky heroine...Be prepared for a wild ride' New York Times Book Review 'An electrifying debut ... The China scenes are fast paced and strikingly atmospheric, and Ellie's backstory-her and Trey's return from combat is tough, sad, and endearing-is given in doses that perfectly complement the central action ... The book's exotic setting and tough heroine will definitely appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson' Publisher's Weekly, Starred Review 'A remarkable debut by Lisa Brackman' Seattle Times 'Lisa Brackman's debut novel is as slick and smart as an alley cat ... The result is a wildly original read ... Even more remarkable is her enfant terrible protagonist: 26-year-old Ellie is tough, snarky and immensely likeable. Through her voice Brackman never falls into the trite and tired trap of so many foreigners who write about an 'exotic' China. Beijing in Year of the Tiger is as it is in real life' Time Out: Beijing 'A gripping ex-pat nightmare that unfolds with superb pacing ... it makes you damned glad your life is boring' Miami Herald 'Brackman's experience in the motion picture industry is evident. A gritty and intriguing tale of terror that draws in the reader with each page; Brackman is a new writer to watch' Library Journal

Lisa Brackman has worked as an executive at a major motion picture studio, an issues researcher in a presidential campaign, and as the singer-songwriter & bassist in an LA rock band. She's lived and travelled extensively in China. Brackman is a southern California native and lives in Venice, CA. YEAR OF THE TIGER is her first novel.

General Fields

  • : 9780007457731
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : Harper
  • : August 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lisa Brackman
  • : Paperback
  • : 400