The Age of Treachery

Author(s): Gavin Scott

Crime Fiction | No Category

It is 1946, and after years of war, ex-Special Operations Executive agent Duncan Forrester is back at his Oxford college as a junior Ancient History Fellow. But his peace is shattered when a hated colleague is found dead, and his closest friend is arrested for the murder.Convinced that the police have the wrong man, and hearing rumours that the victim was in possession of a mysterious Viking saga, Forrester follows the trail of the manuscript from the ruins of Berlin to the forests of Norway, hoping that it is the key to the man's death. But he is not alone in his search, and he soon discovers that old adversaries are still at war...

$8.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
9

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Localised railway station poster campaign; National press reviews. inc Guardian , Times and Independent. More tbc; Local press inc Oxford mail; Crime magazines, website and blog author interviews; A brand-new period mystery series featuring young Oxford don Duncan Forrester; Written by acclaimed British Hollywood screenwriter; Features cameos by J.R.R. Tolkien, Ian Flemming and Thor Heyerdahl; Appeal for fans of John le Carre, Colin Dexter and Dorothy L. Sayers.

"References to J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis ground this book firmly in the postwar period in Oxford. Forrester has to cast aside his PTSD and rely on the skills developed from his espionage experience to ferret out the culprit and motive. A dashing new hero has been born; recommend for readers of Jack Higgins and Joseph Kanon." - Library Journal starred review "vivid...non-stop action... promising postwar series" - Booklist Gavin Scott s debut offers a lively mix of espionage, post-war Oxford college politics, a classic murder mystery situation (the body is surrounded by unmarked snow) and a dizzying supporting cast of characters which includes Ian Fleming, C.S. Lewis, Thor Heyerdahl and even the young Margaret Thatcher. -MARTIN EDWARDS A wonderful book that opens so many intriguing doors into Britain s recent past. -TERRY JONES (Monty Python) Hugely entertaining: An intelligent, fast moving whodunit set in the depths of a post-war winter. Packed with satisfying twists and turns as the plot moves from snow bound Oxford to Berlin and on to Norway, Fans of Morse will love it! Intelligently plotted and elegantly written, it will delight mystery fans. -MARK OLDFIELD, bestselling author of THE SENTINEL A wonderful historical setting; Gavin Scott brilliantly captures this unsettled time. The writing is elegant throughout and the character of Forrester is most appealing. A most enjoyable read. -MAUREEN JENNINGS, bestselling author of THE MURDOCH MYSTERIES A suspenseful murder mystery that holds the reader s interest to the last page. This one is a page turner. -MICHAEL KURLAND, author of THE INFERNAL DEVICE A prime example of how to write compelling mystery fiction -Rising Shadow Packed with historical detail and people, and with a satisfyingly complex series of mysteries to solve -The Crime Review A fun summer read -Retrenders"

Gavin Scott is a British Hollywood screenwriter who spent twenty years as a radio and television reporter for BBC and lTN, and has worked in film and television with Steven Spielberg and George Lucas. His films include Small Soldiers and The Borrowers; among his television series are The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles and War and Peace: his next project is Dunkirk for Working Title. He lives in California.

General Fields

  • : 9781783297801
  • : Titan Books Ltd
  • : Titan Books Ltd
  • : March 2016
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 336
  • : Gavin Scott