The Somme Stations

Author(s): Andrew Martin

Crime Fiction | No Category

On the first day of the Somme enlisted railwayman Jim Stringer lies trapped in a shell hole. He calculates his chances of survival - even before they departed for France, a member of Jim's unit had been found dead. During the stand-off that follows, Jim and his comrades must operate by night the vitally important trains. A stunning historical novel of crime in the trenches.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

A stunning historical novel of crime in the trenches

Winner of CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award 2011.

Andrew Martin is a journalist and novelist. The Somme Stations is the seventh book in his much-loved 'Jim Stringer' series which began with The Necropolis Railway in 2002. The third and fourth books in the series, Murder at Deviation Junction and Death on a Branch Line, were shortlisted for the Ellis Peters Historical Crime Award and, in 2008, Andrew Martin was shortlisted for the CWA Dagger in the Library Award.

General Fields

  • : 9780571249640
  • : Faber and Faber
  • : Faber and Faber Crime
  • : January 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Andrew Martin
  • : Paperback
  • : 304