The Affairs of Others

Author(s): Amy Grace Lloyd

Fiction | No Category

In the five years since her young husband's death, Celia Cassill has retreated from view. She has moved from one New York neighbourhood to another but she has not moved on. The owner of a small apartment building, she has chosen tenants who will not intrude upon her grief. Privacy is the byword; self-containment the aim. Everything will change when a new tenant, Hope, moves in upstairs. Intoxicating and dangerous, Hope is on the run from a failed marriage and in thrall to a seductive, sinister man. As her noisy affair destroys the building's quiet, and another tenant disappears, Celia is forced into contact with life - complicated, messy, irrepressible life - through violence, sex, and the secrets that lurk within the brownstone's walls.

$10.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
2


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

For fans of Siri Husvedt and Nicole Krauss, an exceptional debut about the awakening of a young widow.

A riveting, raw debut... Loyd brilliantly keeps us holding our breath as Celia's barriers disintegrate, her rules fall away, and the shield she holds so tightly over her heart slowly lowers... Stunningly rendered, acutely emotional REDBOOK (USA) For first-time novelist Amy Grace Loyd, an apartment building is not simply housing. It is also a metaphor for the paradoxical isolation and proximity we feel among others... With forceful, sensual prose (the author is captivated by the scents of people and places), Loyd allows Celia to discover that 'life had as many gains as losses as long as we were willing to tally them -- Amy Fine Collins O THE OPRAH MAGAZINE (USA) 20130901 In this 50-shades-of-something novel, an apartment building's tenants are thrown for a loop when a new resident moves in MARIE CLAIRE (USA) 20130901 [Loyd's] writing is rich and elegant, with elements of allusion and allegory and beguiling characters to draw readers in. Dark and sensual, with just a touch of suspense, this first novel offers a heartwrenchingly honest story about grief while still allowing for a glimmer of hope BOOKLIST (USA)

Amy Grace Loyd is an executive editor at BYLINER INC. and was the fiction and literary editor of PLAYBOY magazine for over six years until 2011. She has also worked in THE NEW YORKER's fiction department and was associate editor on the NEW YORK REVIEW OF BOOKS Classics series. She has been a MacDowell and Yaddo fellow. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

General Fields

  • : 9780297871187
  • : Orion Publishing Co
  • : Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • : December 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Amy Grace Lloyd
  • : Hardback
  • : 240