Dynasty: The Rise and Fall of the House of Caesar

Author(s): Tom Holland


Author and historian Tom Holland returns to his roots in Roman history and the audience he cultivated with Rubicon-his masterful, witty, brilliantly researched popular history of the fall of the Roman republic-with Dynasty, a luridly fascinating history of the reign of the first five Roman emperors.

Dynasty continues Rubicon's story, opening where that book ended: with the murder of Julius Caesar. This is the period of the first and perhaps greatest Roman emperors. It's a colorful story of rule and ruination, from the rise of Augustus to the death of Nero. Holland's expansive history also has distinct shades of I, Claudius, with five wonderfully vivid (and in three cases, thoroughly depraved) emperors-Augustus, Tiberius, Caligula, Claudius, and Nero-featured, along with numerous fascinating secondary characters. Intrigue, murder, naked ambition and treachery, greed, gluttony, lust, incest, pageantry, decadence-the tale of these five Caesars continues to cast a mesmerizing spell across the millennia.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

TOM HOLLAND is the author of numerous history books, including Rubicon, Persian Fire, and The Histories, a new translation of Herodotus. He wrote and presented Islam: The Untold Story, a documentary commissioned for Channel 4 in Britain based on his book In the Shadow of the Sword. He lives in London with his wife and two daughters

General Fields

  • : 9780385537841
  • : Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
  • : Doubleday Books
  • : October 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Hardback
  • : 512
  • : Tom Holland