Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"

Author(s): Lena Dunham

Humour | No Category | Biography

"NEW YORK TIMES" BESTSELLER For readers of Nora Ephron, Tina Fey, and David Sedaris, this hilarious, wise, and fiercely candid collection of personal essays establishes Lena Dunham--the acclaimed creator, producer, and star of HBO's "Girls"--as one of the most original young talents writing today. In "Not That Kind of Girl, " Dunham illuminates the experiences that are part of making one's way in the world: falling in love, feeling alone, being ten pounds overweight despite eating only health food, having to prove yourself in a room full of men twice your age, finding true love, and most of all, having the guts to believe that your story is one that deserves to be told. "Take My Virginity (No Really, Take It)" is the account of Dunham's first time, and how her expectations of sex didn't quite live up to the actual event ("No floodgate had been opened, no vault of true womanhood unlocked"); "Girls & Jerks" explores her former attraction to less-than-nice guys--guys who had perfected the "dynamic of disrespect" she found so intriguing; "Is This Even Real?" is a meditation on her lifelong obsession with death and dying--what she calls her "genetically predestined morbidity." And in "I Didn't F*** Them, but They Yelled at Me," she imagines the tell-all she will write when she is eighty and past caring, able to reflect honestly on the sexism and condescension she has encountered in Hollywood, where women are "treated like the paper thingies that protect glasses in hotel bathrooms--necessary but infinitely disposable." Exuberant, moving, and keenly observed, "Not That Kind of Girl" is a series of dispatches from the frontlines of the struggle that is growing up. "I'm already predicting my future shame at thinking I had anything to offer you," Dunham writes. "But if I can take what I've learned and make one menial job easier for you, or prevent you from having the kind of sex where you feel you must keep your sneakers on in case you want to run away during the act, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile." NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY "THE GLOBE AND MAIL "AND "LIBRARY JOURNAL" "The gifted Ms. Dunham not only writes with observant precision, but also brings a measure of perspective, nostalgia and an older person's sort of wisdom to her portrait of her (not all that much) younger self and her world. . . . By simply telling her own story in all its specificity and sometimes embarrassing detail, she has written a book that's as acute and heartfelt as it is funny."--Michiko Kakutani, "The New York Times"" " "Dunham has crafted warm, intelligent writing that is both deeply personal and engaging. . . . [Hers] is not only a voice who deserves to be heard but also one who will inspire other important voices to tell their stories too."--Roxane Gay, "Time"" " "A lovely, touching, surprisingly sentimental portrait of a woman who, despite repeatedly baring her body and soul to audiences, remains a bit of an enigma: a young woman who sets the agenda, defies classification and seems utterly at home in her own skin."--"Chicago Tribune"" " "A lot of us fear we don't measure up beautywise and that we endure too much crummy treatment from men. On these topics, Dunham is funny, wise, and, yes, brave."--"Elle"

$10.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
171

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

"The gifted [Lena] Dunham not only writes with observant precision, but also brings a measure of perspective, nostalgia and an older person's sort of wisdom to her portrait of her (not all that much) younger self and her world. . . . By simply telling her own story in all its specificity and sometimes embarrassing detail, she has written a book that's as acute and heartfelt as it is funny."--Michiko Kakutani, "The New York Times"" " "Dunham has crafted warm, intelligent writing that is both deeply personal and engaging. . . . [Hers] is not only a voice who deserves to be heard but also one who will inspire other important voices to tell their stories too."--Roxane Gay, "Time"" " "A lovely, touching, surprisingly sentimental portrait of a woman who, despite repeatedly baring her body and soul to audiences, remains a bit of an enigma: a young woman who sets the agenda, defies classification and seems utterly at home in her own skin."--"Chicago Tribune"" " "A lot of us fear we don't measure up beautywise and that we endure too much crummy treatment from men. On these topics, Dunham is funny, wise, and, yes, brave. . . . Among Dunham's gifts to womankind is her frontline example that some asshole may call you undesirable or worse, and it won't kill you. Your version matters more."--"Elle"" " "["Not That Kind of Girl" is] witty and wise and rife with the kind of pacing and comedic flourishes that characterize early Woody Allen books. . . . Dunham is an extraordinary talent, and her vision . . . is stunningly original."--Meghan Daum, "The New York Times Magazine"" " "There's a lot of power in retelling your mistakes so people can see what's funny about them--and so that you are in control. Dunham knows about this power, and she has harnessed it."--"The Washington Post"" ""As Dunham proves beyond a shadow of a doubt in "Not That Kind of Girl, " she's not remotely at risk of offering up the same old sentimental tales we've read dozens of times. Dunham's outer and inner worlds are so eccentric and distinct that every anecdote, every observation, every mundane moment of self-doubt actually feels valuable and revelatory."--Heather Havrilesky, "Los Angeles Review of Books"" " "Dunham's book is one of those rare examples when something hyped deserves its buzz. Those of us familiar with her wit and weirdness on HBO's "Girls" will experience it in spades in these essays. . . . There are hilarious moments here--I cracked up on a crowded subway reading an essay about her childhood--and disturbing ones, too. But it's always heartfelt and very real."--"New York Post"" " "We are comforted, we are charmed, we leave more empowered than we came."--NPR "Touching, at times profound, and deeply funny . . . Dunham is expert at combining despair and humor."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review) "Most of us live our lives desperately trying to conceal the anguishing gap between our polished, aspirational, representational selves and our real, human, deeply flawed selves. Dunham lives hers "in" that gap, welcomes the rest of the world into it with boundless openheartedness, and writes about it with the kind of profound self-awareness and self-compassion that invite us to inhabit our own gaps and maybe even embrace them a little bit more, anguish over them a little bit less."--Maria Popova, "Brain Pickings"" " "Reading this book is a pleasure. . . . [These""essays] exude brilliance and insight well beyond Dunham's twenty-eight years."--"The Philadelphia Inquirer"" " "Witty, illuminating, maddening, bracingly bleak . . . That great feminist icon Norman Mailer was very careful, through a lifetime's work, not to unbury his 'crystals, ' his prismatic lodes of psychic material: it's the reason (he claimed) he never wrote an autobiography. Dunham's crystals are on perpetual display, sending light shafts everywhere. . . . [She's] a genuine artist, and a disturber of the order."--"The Atlantic" "It's not Lena Dunham's candor that makes me gasp. Rather, it's her writing--which is full of surprises where you least expect them. A fine, subversive book."--David Sedaris "Always funny, sometimes wrenching, these essays are a testament to the creative wonder that is Lena Dunham."--Judy Blume "Dunham's writing is just as smart, honest, sophisticated, dangerous, and charming as her work on "Girls." Its essential quality is a kind of joyful super-awareness: of herself, the world, the human. Reading her makes you glad to be in the world, and glad that she's in it with you."--George Saunders "Very few women have become famous for being who they actually are, nuanced and imperfect. When honesty happens, it's usually couched in self-ridicule or self-help. Dunham doesn't apologize like that--she simply tells her story as if it might be interesting. "Not That Kind of Girl" is hilarious, artful, and staggeringly intimate; I read it shivering with recognition."--Miranda July "This book should be required reading for anyone who thinks they understand the experience of being a young woman in our culture. I thought I knew the author rather well, and I found many (not altogether welcome) surprises."--Carroll Dunham

Lena Dunham is the creator of the critically acclaimed HBO series "Girls, "for which she also serves as executive producer, writer, and director. She has been nominated for eight Emmy awards and has won two Golden Globes, including Best Actress, for her work on "Girls." She was the first woman to win the Directors Guild of America award for directorial achievement in comedy. Dunham has also written and directed two feature-length films (including "Tiny Furniture" in 2010) and is a frequent contributor to "The New Yorker." She lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. Joana Avillez is an illustrator and the author of "Life Dressing, " a tale of two women who live to dress and dress to live. Her artwork has been featured in "The New York Times, New York, "and" The Wall Street Journal."

General Fields

  • : 9780812994995
  • : Random House
  • : Random House
  • : September 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lena Dunham
  • : Hardback
  • : 265