Eugenio Montale: Collected Poems 1925-1977

Author(s): MONTALE EUGENIO

Poetry | Staff Picks | Christmas Books

Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.


The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith's pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale's poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.

$20.00(AUD) RRP $70.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
53

Add to Cart


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780393080636
  • : W. W. Norton & Company, Incorporated
  • : W. W. Norton & Company, Incorporated
  • : December 2011
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : MONTALE EUGENIO
  • : Hardback
  • : 640