The Light That Gets Lost

Author(s): Natasha Carthew

Young Adult

A small boy hiding in a cupboard witnesses something no child should ever see. He tries not to look but he still hears it. And when he comes out, there's no mistaking. His mum and dad have been killed. And though he's only small, he swears that he'll get revenge one day. Years later, Trey goes to a strange camp that is meant to save troubled teenagers. It's packed with crazies, god-botherers, devoted felons and broken kids. Trey's been in and out of trouble ever since the day the bad thing happened, but he's not here for saving: this is where he'll find the man who did it. Revenge and healing, salvation and hell are a boiling, dangerous mix, and Trey finds himself drawn to a girl, a dream and the offer of friendship in the dark ...

$10.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
1


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

The powerful second novel from the author of Winter Damage. Perfect for fans of Siobhan Dowd, Patrick Ness and Meg Rosoff

A heart-rending quest story about children in a bitterly cold, climate-changed Cornwall, searching for the everyday comforts and love of the world so recently lost Praise for Winter Damage, The Independent A tough, heart-breaking story of loss, fear and friendship Praise for Winter Damage, We Love This Book Small but perfectly formed, Winter Damage is the sort of book that begs to be read out loud, even if there's no one else near to hear it. It's a stone-cold stunner with an uncommonly humble heart, and I urge you to take in into yours, too Praise for Winter Damage, Niall Alexander for Tor.com A beautiful book. It's mysterious and lyrical, sad but hopeful, and truly unforgettable Praise for Winter Damage, The Bookbag.co.uk Top Teen Reads 2013 Introducing a resourceful teenage heroine in bitter circumstances ... This gripping quest tale is set in Cornwall in a near future suffering the effects of climate change and social collapse. Ennor sets out across the frozen moors to bring her mother home for Christmas, learning survival skills and the meaning of friendship from a gypsy girl and eventually joined by her younger brother and a childhood friend Praise for Winter Damage, Geraldine Brennan for The Observer

Natasha Carthew is from Cornwall where she lives with her girlfriend of nineteen years. She has had three books of poetry published. Her first novel Winter Damage was nominated for the 2014 Carnegie Medal and shortlisted for several national awards including the prestigious Branford Boase Award 2014. The Light That Gets Lost is due to be published autumn 2015. She has recently completed her third book, also for Bloomsbury. She occasionally runs 'Wild Writing' workshops but spends most of her time writing outside in all weathers. She is also a survival expert and trained walks guide. She can be contacted through her website: http://natashacarthew.moonfruit.com/

General Fields

  • : 9781408835869
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : October 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 320
  • : Natasha Carthew
  • : Hardback