• Coming from our old website? Create a new account here
The Burma Road: Epic Story Of One World War Iis Most Remarkable Endeavours Book
  • SKU: 9780330427036
  • Availability: in stock Many in stock Out of stock You can purchase this product but it's out of stock

The Burma Road: The Epic Story of One of World War II's Most Remarkable Endeavours

$10.00 $25.00
Description
Author: Donovan Webster

Format: Paperback / softback

Number of Pages: 384


In the tradition of Band of Brothers and Anthony Beevor's Stalingrad, Donovan Webster's The Burma Road vividly recreates one of the astonishing and important events of the Second World War - and the basis for the film The Bridge over the River Kwai. With gripping prose, Webster follows the breathtaking adventures of the Allied 'Hump' pilots who flew hair-raising missions over the Himalayas delivering food and supplies to the 200,000 Chinese labourers charged with creating an overland link with the outside world. For the first time, we learn of the war in Burma from the perspective of the of the soldiers who fought and died there - the bravery, hardships and fears that motivated them to risk everything to avoid a full Japanese occupancy of China. Touching, moving and riveting, Webster's account of this gruelling and arduous campaign is a brilliant and important history, as well as an epic adventure story.

RELATED PRODUCTS

BACK TO TOP