certify image
Rated 4.8/5 based on 2007 reviews.
City of the Uncommon Thief
  • Product ID: 9780525555322
  • Availability: in stock. Ships next working day In stock Out of stock -

City of the Uncommon Thief

$15.00 $34.99
Author: Lynne Bertrand

Format: Hardback

Number of Pages: 400


A dark and intricate fantasy for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thiefis the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. A dark and intricate fantasy,City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. "Guilders work. Foundlings scrub the bogs. Needles bind. Swords tear. And men leave. There is nothing uncommon in this city. I hope Errol Thebes is dead. We bothknow he is safer that way." In a walled city of a mile-high iron guild towers, many things are common knowledge- No book in any of the city's libraries reveals its place on a calendar or a map. Noliving beasts can be found within the city's walls. And no good comes to the guilder or foundling who trespasses too far from their labors. Even on the tower rooftops,where Errol Thebes and the rest of the city's teenagers pass a few short years under an open sky, no one truly believes anything uncommon is possible within the citywalls. But one guildmaster has broken tradition to protect her child, and now the whole city faces an uncommon threat- a pair of black iron spikes that has thepower of both sword and needle on the rib cages of men has gone missing, but the mayhem they cause rises everywhere. If the spikes are not found, nowall will be high enough to protect the city-or the world beyond it. And Errol Thebes? He's not dead and he's certainly not safe.
  • Author: Lynne Bertrand

  • Format: Hardback
  • Tags: Children's Fiction, December-2022, General fiction (Childrens / Teenage), Hardback
  • Barcode: 9780525555322
  • Please note that some books may be Remainder Marked
  • We offer Flat Rate Shipping Australia-wide on all orders, no matter how many books you buy. We also offer FREE in-store pickup at any of our Book Grocer stores around Australia.

    Currently we do not ship outside Australia. We have a separate website for New Zealand customers which can be found here.

    NB. Occasionally we open up a shipping window to allow New Zealand customers to order from the Australian website, and have their order shipped in the next shipping container.  Details of our shipping window can be found in our blog

    Shipping Costs

    Please see the table below for your shipping rate:

     State Shipping Cost (Flat rate)
    VIC, NSW, ACT, SA, TAS and QLD $10
    WA and NT

    $20

     

    If you would like to ship items to more than one address, please place separate orders for these items. 

    Shipping Time

    We endeavour to process your item(s) within 24/48 business hours. We use a combination of Australia Post (for smaller orders) and a shipping company to deliver your order.  You can expect your items within 4-5 days outside peak (Christmas) season. 

    For in-store pickup: Our warehouse is Melbourne-based. We deliver customer orders to our stores on a regular but somewhat unpredictable schedule. If you are based in Melbourne your order is likely to arrive at your selected store earlier than if you select an interstate in-store pickup option.

    Pickup from our Bourke, Spencer and Northcote stores could take up to 1 week to receive your order. 

    Pickup from our Newcastle and Majura stores could take up to 2 weeks to receive your order.

    Pickup from our Tullamarine Warehouse your order will be ready the next business day.

    Your chosen store will get in touch with you by email to let you know your book has arrived. 

    Wondering about what happened to our previous Free Shipping policy? Our reasons for making this change can be found here

    Change of Mind - Remainder Marks

    Generally we do not accept returns due to a change of mind. 

    Our books are remainders which means that they occasionally have a texta mark at the base of the book.  This is one reason our prices are so low.  Unfortunately we cannot accept returns for books that are marked in this way. 

    Change of Mind - Mystery Boxes

    We do not generally provide a change-of-mind refund simply because a Mystery Box contains books you are not interested in.  Any refunds we may give will be on a discretionary basis and will depend on the box being shipped back to us. You would be required to pay return shipping for your box.

    Mystery Box - Important to Read:  We do our best to ensure that our Mystery Boxes contain books selected from a wide range of categories.  (Aside from specific Mystery Boxes such as YA Mystery, of course).  As such, you're almost certainly not going to love all the books.  However, they are about $3 each, so can be re-gifted, used for craft, used to bulk out your collection, saved for a hobby you don't yet have... it's up to you!

    We will, however, provide you with a refund for any duplicates of the same title in a Mystery (or any) Box.  Please send a photograph with your email.  The refund is calculated as a proportion of the number of books in the box. 

    If you are concerned you might not like the books in a Mystery Box, we strongly encourage you to try one of our category boxes instead - which have the full book list published in the description.  

    Damaged or incorrect orders 

    If you have received items that are damaged or incorrect please contact us at help@bookgrocer.com.

    Please note that we will assess damages and any returns/refunds are at our discretion.  Full information about damage criteria can be found here.

    If your return is accepted, we’ll send you a return shipping label, as well as instructions on how and where to send your package. Items sent back to us without first requesting a return will not be accepted. 

    Please inspect your order upon reception and contact us immediately if the item is defective, damaged or if you receive the wrong item, so that we can evaluate the issue and make it right.

    Exceptions / non-returnable items

    Unfortunately, we cannot accept returns on sale items or gift cards. 

    Refunds

    We will notify you once we’ve received and inspected your return, and let you know if the refund was approved or not. If approved, you’ll be automatically refunded on your original payment method. Please remember it can take some time for your bank or credit card company to process and post the refund too.

    Customer Reviews

    Be the first to write a review
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)

    Related Products

    Recently Viewed Products

    Customer Reviews

    Be the first to write a review
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    BACK TO TOP