The House of Brides
  • Product ID: 9781489296825
  • Availability: in stock. Ships next working day Many in stock Out of stock Out of stock

The House of Brides

$10.00 $29.99
Author: Jane Cockram

Format: Paperback / softback

Number of Pages:


'Spellbinding, evocative and compelling, The House of Brides is a delicious literary treat that I couldn't devour fast enough. I predict this is the book everyone will be talking about this summer.' - Rachael Johns, bestselling Australian author Miranda has had a rough few years. Her successful career as a social media influencer has come crashing down after the controversial flop of her fertility app. Humiliated, she moves reluctantly back home to her judgemental father and cold stepmother's house to nurse her wounds, feeling more than ever the loss of her mother. Miranda's mother, well-known author Tessa Summer, died when Miranda was young, leaving behind her bestselling book The House of Brides - a book that chronicled the generations of brides, each more notorious and tragic than the last, who married into the infamous Summer family and became mistress of the beautiful Barnsley House in England. Miranda does not know her mother's family, so when a mysterious letter arrives from a young Summer cousin, asking for her help, Miranda's curiosity about the legendary family (and desire to escape her current situation) prompts her to act. Posing as a prospective nanny, she is soon living in the heart of the family, but nothing is as she expects. The luxury hotel and world-renowned restaurant created by the most recent 'bride', the lovely and effervescent Daphne, is gone. So is Daphne. More disturbing, one of the children is in a wheelchair after a mysterious accident and the sinister housekeeper Mrs Mins seems to have a dark influence over the master of the house. What happened in this house? Where is Daphne? Will Miranda discover what darkness lies hidden at the heart of this house of brides? And if she does, will she survive it? MORE PRAISE FOR THE HOUSE OF BRIDES 'Cockram' s plot crackles with tension, hitting all the right notes for readers fond of gothic-flavored tales.' - Publishers Weekly 'Gripping, atmospheric and with an ending you won't see coming, this book held me in its spell long after the final page. A sure-fire bestseller.' - Sally Hepworth, bestselling author of The Mother-in-Law 'Jane Cockram's The House of Brides is a twisty, turny ride through the English countryside ... Fans of Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights and Rebecca will love this! " - Ellen LaCorte, author of The Perfect Fraud
  • Author: Jane Cockram

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Tags: Crime Fiction, Historical mysteries, July-2021, Paperback / softback
  • Barcode: 9781489296825
  • Please note that some books may be Remainder Marked
  • We offer free shipping Australia-wide on all orders $50 and above.  This includes all our Book Boxes.  We also offer FREE instore pickup at any of our Book Grocer stores around Australia.

    Currently we do not ship outside Australia.

    Shipping Times

    For $10 Shipping Australia-wide: We endeavour to process your item(s) within 24/48 business hours. We use a combination of Australia Post (for smaller orders) and a shipping company to deliver your order.  You can expect your items within 4-5 days outside peak (Christmas) season. 

    For in-store pickup: Our warehouse is Melbourne-based. We deliver customer orders to our stores on a regular but somewhat unpredictable schedule. If you are based in Melbourne your order is likely to arrive at your selected store earlier than if you select an interstate in-store pickup option.

    Interstate stores could take up to 3 weeks to receive the book you have ordered. 

    Your chosen store will get in touch with you by email to let you know your book has arrived. 

    Change of Mind - Remainder Marks

    Generally we do not accept returns due to a change of mind. 

    Our books are remainders which means that they occasionally have a texta mark at the base of the book.  This is one reason our prices are so low.  Unfortunately we cannot accept returns for books that are marked in this way. 

    Change of Mind - Mystery Boxes

    We do not generally provide a change-of-mind refund simply because a Mystery Box contains books you are not interested in.  Any refunds we may give will be on a discretionary basis and will depend on the box being shipped back to us. You would be required to pay return shipping for your box.

    Mystery Box - Important to Read:  We do our best to ensure that our Mystery Boxes contain books selected from a wide range of categories.  (Aside from specific Mystery Boxes such as YA Mystery, of course).  As such, you're almost certainly not going to love all the books.  However, they are about $3 each, so can be re-gifted, used for craft, used to bulk out your collection, saved for a hobby you don't yet have... it's up to you!

    We will, however, provide you with a refund for any duplicates of the same title in a Mystery (or any) Box.  Please send a photograph with your email.  The refund is calculated as a proportion of the number of books in the box. 

    If you are concerned you might not like the books in a Mystery Box, we strongly encourage you to try one of our category boxes instead - which have the full book list published in the description.  

    Damaged or incorrect orders 

    If you have received items that are damaged or incorrect please contact us at help@bookgrocer.com. If your return is accepted, we’ll send you a return shipping label, as well as instructions on how and where to send your package. Items sent back to us without first requesting a return will not be accepted. 

    Please inspect your order upon reception and contact us immediately if the item is defective, damaged or if you receive the wrong item, so that we can evaluate the issue and make it right.

    Exceptions / non-returnable items

    Unfortunately, we cannot accept returns on sale items or gift cards. 

    Refunds

    We will notify you once we’ve received and inspected your return, and let you know if the refund was approved or not. If approved, you’ll be automatically refunded on your original payment method. Please remember it can take some time for your bank or credit card company to process and post the refund too.

    Related Products

    Recently Viewed Products

    BACK TO TOP