Rated 4.7/5 based on 1284 reviews.
Fiction in Translation Bargain Box
  • Product ID: HIB154
  • Availability: in stock. Ships next working day In stock Out of stock -

Fiction in Translation Bargain Box

$100.00
Purchase more than one Book Box and receive 5% off.

Here is a wonderful celebration of the best in fiction in translation.  See how authors from East and West tackle a whole array of topics.  The box includes a number of Nobel Laureates and bestsellers.  Please note that a few of these titles have featured in some of our other fiction boxes.  The 17 books in this collection are:

  1. Stories and Prose Poems By: Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn ISBN: 9780374534721
  2. Where Tigers Are at Home: A Novel By: Jean-Marie Blas de Robles ISBN: 9781590515624
  3. Territory of Light By: Yuko Tsushima ISBN: 9780374273217
  4. My Cat Yugoslavia By: Pajtim Statovci ISBN: 9781101871829
  5. The Gilded Cage By: Camilla Lackberg ISBN: 9780008283735
  6. The Hungry and the Fat A bold new satire by the author of LOOK WHOS BACK By: Timur Vermes ISBN: 9781529400571
  7. Miss Iceland By: Audur Ava Olafsdottir ISBN: 9781782275671
  8. Late Fame By: Arthur Schnitzler ISBN: 9781782273707
  9. Happy Days of the Grump: The feel-good bestseller perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove By: Tuomas Kyro ISBN: 9781786580269
  10. The Susan Effect By: Peter Hoeg ISBN: 9781784702267
  11. Manual of Painting and Calligraphy By: Jose Saramago ISBN: 9780547640228
  12. The New Sorrows of Young W. By: Ulrich Plenzdorf ISBN: 9781782274452
  13. A Girl Returned By: Donatella Di Pietrantonio ISBN: 9781787702653
  14. The Appointment By: Herta Muller ISBN: 9781846272905
  15. In Praise of the Stepmother By: Mario Vargas Llosa ISBN: 9780312421304
  16. The Testament of Cresseid & Seven Fables: Translated by Seamus Heaney By: Seamus Heaney ISBN: 9780571249282
  17. A Tranquil Star Stories By: Primo Levi ISBN: 9780393331615
  • Format: Bargain Box
  • Tags: bargain box, fiction, Fiction in translation, fictionbox, October-2021
  • Barcode: HIB154
  • Please note that some books may be Remainder Marked
  • We offer Flat Rate Shipping Australia-wide on all orders, no matter how many books you buy. We also offer FREE in-store pickup at any of our Book Grocer stores around Australia.

    Currently we do not ship outside Australia. We have a separate website for New Zealand customers which can be found here.

    NB. Occasionally we open up a shipping window to allow New Zealand customers to order from the Australian website, and have their order shipped in the next shipping container.  Details of our shipping window can be found in our blog

    Shipping Costs

    Please see the table below for your shipping rate:

     State Shipping Cost (Flat rate)
    VIC, NSW, ACT, SA, TAS and QLD $10
    WA and NT

    $20

     

    If you would like to ship items to more than one address, please place separate orders for these items. 

    Shipping Time

    We endeavour to process your item(s) within 24/48 business hours. We use a combination of Australia Post (for smaller orders) and a shipping company to deliver your order.  You can expect your items within 4-5 days outside peak (Christmas) season. 

    For in-store pickup: Our warehouse is Melbourne-based. We deliver customer orders to our stores on a regular but somewhat unpredictable schedule. If you are based in Melbourne your order is likely to arrive at your selected store earlier than if you select an interstate in-store pickup option.

    Pickup from our Bourke, Spencer and Northcote stores could take up to 1 week to receive your order. 

    Pickup from our Newcastle and Majura stores could take up to 2 weeks to receive your order.

    Pickup from our Tullamarine Warehouse your order will be ready the next business day.

    Your chosen store will get in touch with you by email to let you know your book has arrived. 

    Wondering about what happened to our previous Free Shipping policy? Our reasons for making this change can be found here

    Change of Mind - Remainder Marks

    Generally we do not accept returns due to a change of mind. 

    Our books are remainders which means that they occasionally have a texta mark at the base of the book.  This is one reason our prices are so low.  Unfortunately we cannot accept returns for books that are marked in this way. 

    Change of Mind - Mystery Boxes

    We do not generally provide a change-of-mind refund simply because a Mystery Box contains books you are not interested in.  Any refunds we may give will be on a discretionary basis and will depend on the box being shipped back to us. You would be required to pay return shipping for your box.

    Mystery Box - Important to Read:  We do our best to ensure that our Mystery Boxes contain books selected from a wide range of categories.  (Aside from specific Mystery Boxes such as YA Mystery, of course).  As such, you're almost certainly not going to love all the books.  However, they are about $3 each, so can be re-gifted, used for craft, used to bulk out your collection, saved for a hobby you don't yet have... it's up to you!

    We will, however, provide you with a refund for any duplicates of the same title in a Mystery (or any) Box.  Please send a photograph with your email.  The refund is calculated as a proportion of the number of books in the box. 

    If you are concerned you might not like the books in a Mystery Box, we strongly encourage you to try one of our category boxes instead - which have the full book list published in the description.  

    Damaged or incorrect orders 

    If you have received items that are damaged or incorrect please contact us at help@bookgrocer.com. If your return is accepted, we’ll send you a return shipping label, as well as instructions on how and where to send your package. Items sent back to us without first requesting a return will not be accepted. 

    Please inspect your order upon reception and contact us immediately if the item is defective, damaged or if you receive the wrong item, so that we can evaluate the issue and make it right.

    Exceptions / non-returnable items

    Unfortunately, we cannot accept returns on sale items or gift cards. 

    Refunds

    We will notify you once we’ve received and inspected your return, and let you know if the refund was approved or not. If approved, you’ll be automatically refunded on your original payment method. Please remember it can take some time for your bank or credit card company to process and post the refund too.

    Customer Reviews

    Based on 5 reviews
    60%
    (3)
    20%
    (1)
    20%
    (1)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    R
    Robin Dutton

    So excited to receive this box.. I love to read unknowns and also find translated authors give a different perspective on the world and life! I haven’t started on these yet, but reading the backs suggests different styles and genres… also excited that there are some prize winners in there!

    T
    Thomas Guest
    Fiction in Translation

    Wonderful selection. Already read 15 of the books and the variety of style is a bonus. I hope there will be futher books of treasures likes these.

    P
    Peter Hourigan
    Fiction in Translation Box

    A satisfying mix - some titles and authors I know (and so could 'trust' the selection.) And some I'd never heard of, as well as some books outside my normal reading genres, but several of those already have been most enjoying. Still lots more to explore. Only one I'd already read (THE SILENCE) and at the price, who's complaining? It's already found a new home, anyway.

    S
    Suzanne Tobin
    Pretty good

    Have enjoyed the couple of books I’ve read so far!

    W
    Westin Miguel
    Fiction in Translation bargain box

    A good collection of literary works originally written in a language other than English, then translated into English.
    This would be a great collection if it included books written by more South American, African and indigenous writers. The collection was rather European-heavy, and I was especially surprised that there wasn’t a single title written by an African author.

    The collection and promotion is a fantastic idea, and I will keep an eye out for the next collection.

    Related Products

    Recently Viewed Products

    Customer Reviews

    Based on 5 reviews
    60%
    (3)
    20%
    (1)
    20%
    (1)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    R
    Robin Dutton

    So excited to receive this box.. I love to read unknowns and also find translated authors give a different perspective on the world and life! I haven’t started on these yet, but reading the backs suggests different styles and genres… also excited that there are some prize winners in there!

    T
    Thomas Guest
    Fiction in Translation

    Wonderful selection. Already read 15 of the books and the variety of style is a bonus. I hope there will be futher books of treasures likes these.

    P
    Peter Hourigan
    Fiction in Translation Box

    A satisfying mix - some titles and authors I know (and so could 'trust' the selection.) And some I'd never heard of, as well as some books outside my normal reading genres, but several of those already have been most enjoying. Still lots more to explore. Only one I'd already read (THE SILENCE) and at the price, who's complaining? It's already found a new home, anyway.

    S
    Suzanne Tobin
    Pretty good

    Have enjoyed the couple of books I’ve read so far!

    W
    Westin Miguel
    Fiction in Translation bargain box

    A good collection of literary works originally written in a language other than English, then translated into English.
    This would be a great collection if it included books written by more South American, African and indigenous writers. The collection was rather European-heavy, and I was especially surprised that there wasn’t a single title written by an African author.

    The collection and promotion is a fantastic idea, and I will keep an eye out for the next collection.

    BACK TO TOP